Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Introducing Bill Simmons, the Arch Enemy

Thanks to Mr. Peckinpaugh, I was pointed to yet more anger towards the media that rides Kobe's back. This article was written by a Bill Simmons, a writer for ESPN the Magazine, and a Celtics fan, which automatically makes him hate anything that is associated with the LA Lakers, especially their best player, thus making him in a word a Kobe-hater, anti-Kobe, or more simply, Kurtis. One of his biggest arguments, and quite frankly the biggest complaint most everyone has against Kobe, is that he shoots too much. They all say that yea Kobe can score a bunch, cuz he never passes, and he has to shoot it 30 times to get a bunch of points. Mr. Simmons makes the exact same statement in this article, pointing the Kobe's Madison Square Garden record breaking performance of 61 pts on Feb 2, 2009. In this game Kobe break the record of Knicks great Bernard King, and Simmons says this about Kobe's performance.

"Kobe's 61-point game represented the best and worst of basketball to me.....his teammates stood around and watched him like movie extras. In 37 minutes, Kobe took 31 shots and another 20 free throws. He finished with three assists and no boards......New York buddy was so distraught that Bernard's 60-point Garden record fell so ignominiously"

So he is saying that Kobe broke Bernard's record in a bad way, that Kobe shot it 31 times and didnt pass the ball. So lets look at facts Mr. Simmons: Kobe: 19-31FGs, 3-6threes, 20-20FTs Bernard King: 19-30FGs, 0-1threes, 22-26FTs. Well I guess the numbers speak for themselves. Basically the same shots and FTs, but there is one difference in those 2 performances, the Lakers won 126-117, King's Knicks lost 114-120. As far as I'm concerned, winning the game trumps everything else. Prevett 1 - Simmons 0

Lastly, back to last nights Game 1. Simmons twitter read: "I enjoyed Kobe Bryant's prime." And when was his prime? Was it back when he won 3 championships? oh no he had Shaq....was it back when he scored 55pts on MJ? oh no MJ was old......oh i know when it was, last year winning the MVP? no he is too old then....then I guess we agree on something Mr. Simmons, his prime is June 2009 when he advances to the NBA finals after beating a very good Melo. Thanks for coming out.

1 comment:

  1. From Simmons' chat today:

    Ash, Vancouver: I hate how people said Kobe beat Melo last night, Melo scored one point less and took 10 shots less and wasn't assisted by the refs like Bryant was.

    SportsNation Bill Simmons: (1:12 PM ET ) Melo was the best player on the floor last night. Period.

    ReplyDelete